Golden Baobab Prize Winners Named

The 2012 winners of the Golden Baobab Prizes, a leading African literary award, have been announced. This year Joy Nwiyi of Nigeria, Jenny Robson of South Africa/Botswana and Rutendo Chabikwa of Zimbabwe were selected as the distinguished winners by a prestigious panel of judges. They join the growing circle of promising authors chosen by The Golden Baobab Prizes, which are the only prizes of their kind. They are awarded annually to inspire the creation of quality African literature to be enjoyed by young readers in Africa and around the world. The prizes offer a monetary award to its winners and connects outstanding stories with an array of African and international publishers.

This year, Nwiyi’s Something for Next Time won her the Golden Baobab Prize for the best story written for ages 12-15 years. Robson’s Wha-Zup Dude? was named the Golden Baobab winner for the best story written for ages 8-11 years. Finally, Chabikwa’s A Healing Adventure and Letters from the City earned her the Golden Baobab Rising Writer Prize, which is given to a young writer, 18 years or under, who shows exceptional literary promise for his or her age.

The 2012 Golden Baobab Prizes Honorable Mentions for the Junior Category (stories targeted at readers 8-11 years):

  • Yaba Badoe (Ghana): The Fish-Man of Purple Lake 
  • Daniel Ansah Akrofi (Ghana), The Stray 
  • Yaba Badoe of (Ghana), The Fisherman's Daughter 

The 2012 Golden Baobab Prize Honorable Mentions for the Senior Category (stories targeted at readers 12-15 years):

  • Gothataone Moeng (Botswana), Absolute Truth about Red Mite  Sedem Agbolosu (Ghana), Transfiguration

The 2012 Golden Baobab Rising Writer Prize Honorable Mention (for a promising writer 18 years and younger):

  • Sarah Juma (Nigeria), Grey Marine

The 2012 Golden Baobab Prizes featured a panel of renowned judges. They are CNN Hero and children’s librarian Yohannes Gebregeorgis, international children’s librarian Tanja Galetti, award- winning young African writer Kopano Matlwa, esteemed scholar Vivian Yenika Agbaw, South African children’s publisher Carol Broomhall and acclaimed writer of African children's stories Atinuke Akinyemi-Sears.

The mission of the Golden Baobab Prizes is to ensure the creation of high quality literary content for children and young adults by discovering, nurturing and promoting African talent.