Our Judges for the 2018 Golden Baobab Prize

Posted by on in News
  • Font size:LargerSmaller
  • Hits: 3906
  • Print

2018 Golden Baobab Prize Judges

We are delighted to announce our judges for the 2018 Golden Baobab Prize! This year’s jury comprises prominent international publishing and literacy professionals. They are:

  • Akoss Ofori-Mensah, Publisher, Sub-Saharan Publishers

  • Kathy Knowles, Children’s writer, publisher and founder, Osu Library Fund

  • Daphne Lee, ConsultingEditor, Scholastic Asia

  • Sarah Odedina, Editor-at-Large, Pushkin Press

  • Akua Peprah, Educator, The Lovett School

  • Carol Williams, West Africa Regional Director, Worldreader

Full details about the 2018 judges can be found here: http://www.goldenbaobab.org/prizes/judges

“We are excited to present a jury this year that boasts an international group of literary professionals who care about getting diverse books to children.” says Eunice Ahenkorah, Program Manager of Golden Baobab. “As the Golden Baobab Prize celebrates its 10th anniversary this year, we look forward to a new chapter where we will establish meaningful partnerships with various organizations to increase our capacity to have more African children’s books published by our authors and illustrators”

The Golden Baobab Prize was established to discover and present talented African writers and illustrators with opportunities to produce African children's books. We invite entries of unpublished stories and illustrations by African citizens irrespective of age, race, gender or country of origin, and offers cash prizes as well as publishing opportunities to outstanding entries.

Winners of the Prize have to gone on to see success in the publishing industry. Grandma’s List, a Golden Baobab Prize winning story by Ghanaian writer Portia Dery and published by African Bureau Stories, has won the 2018 Children’s Africana Book Award (CABA) organized by Africa Access and the Outreach Council of the African Studies Association in the U.S. The CABA Award sponsors include the African Studies departments of Harvard, Howard and Yale universities among others. 

The winners of this year’s Golden Baobab Prize will be announced on December 15, 2018.